Jess.I.Can

Can I? Jess I can!

3 days, lots of numbers February 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 11:18 PM
Tags: , , ,

Sunday:

The Super Sunday 5K in Boston was a huge success! Even though it was a little windy and chilly, I was bundled up enough to not have it bother me. And, the ridiculous flatness of the course more than made up for it! Plus, it was over with so fast that I barely had time to be cold. 😉

Official Time: 21:54 (new PR by 36 seconds) 48/681 overall, 12/412 women, 7/203 age group!

Mile splits:

1- 7:21

2-7:05

3- 6:51!

.11 @ a 5:50 pace!!

(If you can’t tell by now, I love numbers and stats. A little too much maybe.)

I don’t feel like I was pushing 100% in this race. The only time I really felt like I was pushing it was in the last .6 mile, when I could see the finish. Of course then I was dry heaving, but NBD. Maybe because it was so much flatter than what I’m used to, but I think i could have definitely ran at least 30 seconds faster. I guess that’s not necessarily a bad thing, since I’ll probably PR again next race when I try harder! My ultimate goal is to break 20 minutes, which I think is definitely doable eventually, if I keep getting consistently faster like I have.

Monday

I napped too late yesterday afternoon, so even though the weather wasn’t horrible, it was dark by the time I was ready to run. Surprisingly though, I had a ton of energy, so I was ready to pound out a strong run on the treadmill. Originally I was going to do a 5 mile tempo, then decided to make it 7 with a mile warmup and cool down, then decided to make it a 9 with 2 miles each of warmup and cool-down.

When I got to 9 miles, I figured since it’s only 1 away from 10, I might as well keep going! I felt great the whole time, and wasn’t even tired, drained, or sore. I just threw my ipod on shuffle, put on the tv, and zoned out for ~1:26:30. Who knew  that a long treadmill run could actually be enjoyable? I was glad to finally get in a long run too, since I hadn’t done one for 3 weeks, and am starting to get nervous about my half coming up in less than 3 weeks. Now I feel much better!

Today

As much as I’ve been enjoying the treadmill lately, especially for intervals, fartleks, and tempo runs, I figured I might as well take advantage of the “warm” weather (for us New Englanders, anything above freezing!) before the snowpocalypse reaches us tomorrow. I headed out for a 4.5 mile loop around the lake at an easy pace of 8:30, which I maintained consistently throughout the run, without even looking at my Garmin!

Since I parked my car at the Y, I decided to go in and do a quick leg workout, since they still didn’t feel overly tired from the 15 miles I’d run in the past 2 days. Turns out my quads were actually pretty shot, and ended up having to use less than half of the weight I normally use on some of the machines.

The Y also got a ton of new cardio machines, so I cooled down by trying out 10 minutes on a new elliptical, and 5 minutes on this weird combo elliptical/stepper machine, which I’ll talk about at some other point.

It’s crazy how just a few short months ago 8:30 would have been my “tempo  pace”, and now it is my “recovery pace”. I’m enjoying every minute of my training; especially seeing the results in my speed and strength!

Tomorrow we’re supposed to be getting a boatload of snow, so much that they have already cancelled school for tomorrow! While I’m happy about having the day off, it puts a damper in my running plans. I’m thinking that I’ll try to wake up early-ish and go to the gym before the serious snow starts, but we’ll see. I may end up having a date with Jillian Michaels and Dave Farmar in my basement!

Mileage:

Today: 6.0

This week: 16.35/35

This year: 173.78/1500

 

Leave a Reply

