Jess.I.Can

Can I? Jess I can!

Half Marathon Training February 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Jessica @ 7:00 AM

As you may know, I’m signed up to run a half marathon in 17 days…eek! I’m starting to get nervous.

I didn’t follow a training plan per se, but focused on the following elements that most good training plans have:

  • A gradual buildup of miles, peaking around 30-35 mpw
  • Long runs of 10-12 miles. Unfortunately, I’ve only done 6 of these so far. I’m hoping this is enough… I hope to get in one 13 mile run in the next week. My first long run of 10+ miles was done at a ~9:15 pace, and now I’ve been doing them closer to an 8:15-8:30 pace. Hopefully this means I’ll be able to run 13.1 at an 8:00 pace!
  • An easy week every fourth week, with a drop down to 20-25 miles and no long run.
  • Speedwork, including intervals, fartleks, and tempo runs. I try to do 2 of these per week. Many of these workouts have been done on the treadmill because of the snow and hills around here.
  • Easy recovery runs. I try to do 2 of these per week, but at least one usually ends up turning into a goal pace or tempo run. These are tough for me to do, because I’m always tempted to push the pace. The best way for me to do these slower runs is with my sister, since she is much more relaxed about her running, which means that she is much more relaxed about her pace. These are usually done around a 9:00-10:00 pace.
  • Stretching– I try to stretch for a few minutes before and after every run, but will take a little bit longer to stretch at least once a week, especially if I feel any sort of pain coming on. I’m also working on getting back into yoga to get back some of my lost flexibility.
  • Strength training– I used to be really into lifting, but once I started seriously running, I cut back to next to nothing. I’m now back to incorporating it into my routine. I usually lift twice a week after an easier run; one day focusing on my upper body, and the other day focusing on my lower body.
  • Cross training– I usually cross-train one day per week. This is usually either a Jillian Michaels video, different cardio machines at the gym, or something active like skiing or rock climbing.
  • Rest days– I’m horrible at taking rest days! I always feel so guilty for not doing anything. I was taking them every 4 days or so, but now it’s been more like once a week. Recently I’ve been feeling great, so I’ll go up to 10 days without taking a break. I’ve only taken one total rest day in February so far, but have plenty of easy days. The key is listening to your body and not overdoing it.

I’m lucky that I’ve managed to stay injury free since the second week of December, when my training officially started. I’m also glad that I have been able to maintain my training through the holidays and dark, cold, and snow of winter. Let’s hope all of this hard work pays off on February 28th!

Have a great day!

 

Leave a Reply

